Shove over, Alan Moore…

Look what dropped last week at my local comix retailer? Why, it’s “Edgar & Ellen: Graphic Novelty,” an inexpensive and gifty collection of comics starring some intellectual property I know all too well.

To be shelved next to "Maus" and "Dark Knight Returns."

To be shelved next to "Maus" and "Dark Knight Returns."

I was lead editor on this project back in my Star Farm days, and even got to write a few short pieces for the book. It’s loaded with brilliant writing from my amigos Kathryn Achenbach, Patrick van Slee and Matthew Jent. It couldn’t look more beautifuller thanks to pretty pretty pictures from the likes of Dave Crosland, Renaissance man Troy Cummings, Jose Garibaldi, Jade, Peter Bergting, Eisner-nominated Jacob Chabot and, of course, E&E co-creator Rick Carton.

Flipping through it now, it’s clear my major contribution here — a six-page short called “Glob’s Glums” — was an amusing idea poorly executed. To be sure, it’s wonderfully illustrated by comix (and comic) genius Dave Crosland, who did his level best with too much dialog and description from me. I thought I knew what amateurish script writing was, so it’s pretty humbling to observe my own work trying too hard, cramming in too much. Dave gets props for selling as many jokes as he could in the space he had left after I was done.

Of my own work, I am actually most proud of a throwaway gag we did for a back page, a spoof of the old novelty ads of the Silver Age of comics.

The Helter Smelter Novelty Co.

The Helter Smelter Novelty Co.

Re-reading it made me laugh out loud several times. I had my favorite gag that I contributed…

Always be wary of Johnny Too-Tough.

…but I had forgotten this entry from Kat Achenbach, and I bleated an obnoxious laugh when I saw it again:

Also: The moon landing? Fake.

I’m proud of being affiliated with the work of some really smart guys. Mssrs. van Slee and Chabot bring home a winner with a down-the-rabbit-hole sequence for Miles, E&E’s silliest character:

"Miles Beyond" by Patrick van Slee and Jacob Chabot

"Miles Beyond" by Patrick van Slee and Jacob Chabot

And funny, funny Matty Jent delivered an brilliant script for “Pirates of the Water Park,” which worked almost perfectly from the first panel on. My 8-year-old son just now burst out in snorts of glee with this panel of Edgar line-jumping at a lengthy waterslide queue:

"Pirates of the Water Park" by Matthew Jent and Peter Bergting

"Pirates of the Water Park" by Matthew Jent and Peter Bergting

Pick up a copy, won’t you? It’s an 8-smacker steal from fiscally minded Simon & Schuster!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

